Home Tags The Sixteen Counties Song

Tag: The Sixteen Counties Song

To the tune of “Yankee Doodle”: The sixteen counties of our state Are Cumberland and Franklin Piscataquis and Kennebec Oxford, Androscoggin Sagadahoc and Somerset Lincoln, Knox and Hancock Waldo, Washington and York Aroostook and Penobscot. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPvdbaE6Qts How do you teach somebody where they come from? "The Sixteen Counties Song" has been taught to elementary school children in Maine since at least the early 1960s. I learned it in during the 1991-1992 school year, at Mabel I. Wilson elementary school, on Tuttle Road in the center...