The National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 Winners Have Been Announced


This morning the winners of the National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 Award were announced via a baseball card-esque presentation on BuzzFeed Books. Winners were selected by former winners and finalists of the National Book Awards and are now part of what’s turning out to be a very big week not only for being put on lists celebrating youth and glory, but also just winning cool prizes in general.

This year’s winners are Angela Flournoy, author of The Turner House (selected by ZZ Packer); Megan Kruse, author of Call Me Home (selected by Phil Klay); Colin Barrett, author of Young Skins (selected by Paul Yoon); Tracey O’Neill, author of The Hopeful (selected by Fiona Maazel); and Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi, author of Fra Keeler (selected by Dinaw Mengestu). So in case you were wondering what to read this fall, here’s five places to start!

Also, the honorees will be feted at a party this November hosted by none other than Reading Rainbow‘s own LeVar Burton, emceed by author (and Brooklyn Magazine contributor) Ben Greenman, with extra-special bartender, author Rosie Schaap. Now, that’s a book party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here